What Jewish Beliefs are Shared by Christians and Muslims?

When addressing the world’s major faiths, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism, emphasis is frequently on conflict and division. But according to the evidence found in their scriptures and religious books, it can be easily concluded that all three religions follow the same God.

What Jewish Beliefs are Shared by Christians and Muslims?

Relationships between Christians, Jews, and Muslims have been formed by their schools of thought and beliefs and their historical contexts. As a consequence, religious knowledge is built on the foundation of history. The concept of who was considered Christian, Jew, or Muslim evolved over history, sometimes reflecting merely a religious affiliation but more frequently denoting a specific social, economic, or cultural group.

Despite many differences and conflicts among them, these religions have a lot in common. Let’s see what Jewish beliefs are shared by Christians and Muslims.

Abrahamic Religions

The presence of Abraham is a notion shared among all three religions; Christianity, Islam, and Judaism. The historic specifics may differ. All these religions believe that Abraham received the revelation from God.

Abraham then disseminated the word of God’s revelation to ensure that everyone recognized His oneness and obeyed Him. In exchange, God vowed to watch after Abraham’s descendants and provide them prominence in the hereafter if they stayed faithful to Him.

Ismael and Isaac were Abraham’s two sons. Ismael and his successors became Muslims after settling in Mecca, but Isaac and his successors became Christians and Jews after settling in Jerusalem. In all these monotheistic religions, Ismael and Isaac are honored and respected.

Abraham’s Sacrifice In All Three Religions

All of the Abrahamic religions believe in complete submission to God. The famed Abrahamic sacrifice, recognized by all three religions, is an excellent example.

God ordered Abraham to sacrifice his precious son to confirm his faithfulness to Him in a vision. When Abraham prepared his son for sacrifice, God substituted him with a ram. Abraham’s faithfulness to God was put to the test when he was asked to make a sacrifice and was ready to do it without question.

The sole distinction between these religions is that Ismael was the son who was chosen for sacrifice in Islam. But according to the Jews and Christians, the chosen Son was Isaac.

The Concept Of Fasting In Abrahamic Religions

Fasting is practiced in all three Abrahamic religions to ask God’s mercy and better grasp their faith’s true purpose. Once a year, during the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims fast as a sacred offering. From sunrise until sunset, they refrain from eating or drinking anything. The purpose of this effort is to comprehend the poor’s suffering and demonstrate full allegiance to God.

Jews observe fasting on six specified days throughout the year. There are two major and four minor fasts that serve the same function as the Muslim fasts.

Meanwhile, Christians fast throughout certain times of the Christian calendar. They usually offer to fast for forty days during Lent to strengthen their spiritual ties with the Holy Trinity. They likewise fast because they share the same convictions about sacrifice and submission to God as the other Abrahamic religions.

The Concept Of Judgement Day, Heaven, and Hell

Muslims, Christians, and Jews believe in Judgement Day, Resurrection, the concept of Heaven, Hell, and the Eternal life. According to the holy books of these Abrahamic religions, an individual should resist committing crimes and perform good activities to receive redemption from God.

According to Islam, Christianity, and Judaism, people will have to appear in God’s court to defend their deeds in the world. If one selects the road of God’s anger, he will be sentenced to hell, while those who vow to be practicing disciples will receive the great news of heaven.

The Message Of Peace

All three Abrahamic religions promote the same fundamental concept. Islam, Christianity, and Judaism give the message of peace, love, and generosity. Their sacred writings all preach the same thing: Christians should spend everything they have been given in the cause of God.

They advise Christians not to be stingy with their money and use it wisely. They emphasize the value of compassion. God likes his followers who practice kindness, according to all three religions. The Holy Quran and the Bible frequently encourage believers to help needy orphans and be courteous to everyone. There’s also a strong focus on tolerance.

The Concept Of One God

All three religions, Islam, Christianity, and Judaism, are monotheistic since they all emphasize the presence of one God. The Oneness of God is a strong concept in all these Abrahamic religions. According to Islamic teachings, Allah is the only God who created the heavens and the earth. Muslims believe in the oneness of Allah and pray to him for their matters.

Similarly, Christians also believe in the concept of one God. They believe in the Holy Trinity of the Father. Son and Holy Spirit are one God. Likewise, the Jews also worship one God and believe that Yahweh is their one true God.

Our Final Thoughts

As proved with their teachings, we can see what Jewish beliefs are shared by Christians and Muslims. A lot of similarities exist among all three Abrahamic religions. These all religions promote the worship of one God, and the concept of prayers and worship are also similar in Muslims, Christians, and Jews. Despite many differences in their school of thought, all these religions were laid with the same foundations. To believe in the existence of one God and live with kindness, love, and compassion for others. So, the believer of all these religions should not promote hate for each other but encourage love and kindness. The world has already suffered enough due to hatred, and it’s time people should promote love and kindness and live in harmony.